« Plans for LotusGeek and 2008... | Main| Netscape is dead... long live Netscape »

Have you been getting a ton of emails about "Media Cool 2.0"?

QuickImage   
Category
Bookmark : del.icio.us  Technorati  Digg This  Add To Furl  Add To YahooMyWeb  Add To Reddit  Add To NewsVine 

Over the last two or three days I have been getting numerous emails that appear to be spam, all with the the title of "Media Cool 2.0 - where to download". It appears to be running from a trojan, as the CC list has "real" names in it that look like it was mined from someone's address book. I have received it quite a few times, from different sender names, all with the same body. The body of the email is the following:
Hello,

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. I'm sorry for taking your time reading this message. I would like to introduce a product.

Media Cool 2.0 is a media searching/extracting/playing tool for your home entertainment. Do you have problem downloading flv videos (such as youtube video) or do you want to save these online music to your disk or ipod? Media Cool helps to make it.

You may find evaluation copy by googling: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=media+cool+2.0&btnG=Google+Search

Hope it useful for you.

Also, please see here for how to use it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUbAAL8_xI4

Have a good day.

(Note: I deliberately didn't enable the URLs in the email body - if you want to go to the links, you can copy/paste them yourself.)

This seems very fishy to me, except that it a) uses Google to have you find an evaluation copy of the software, and b) uses YouTube to show you how to use it. My thoughts are that the software itself probably has malware or spyware built into it, and they are trying to get it seeded into society before activating the payload. In any case, something doesn't seem quite right to me, because of the delivery mechanism of the email itself.

Have any of you gotten these emails as well? What do you think of this? Have you heard anything else about this? I can't find anything about it on the 'net.

Any information you want to share would be appreciated.

One final note: Be careful - even though none of us can find anything wrong with this, that doesn't mean you still shouldn't be very cautious. You're on your own, but I would recommend not installing anything you're unsure of, and as far as I am concerned this product falls into that category. Just be careful out there...

Rock
**Age doesn't always bring wisdom. Sometimes age comes alone.

Comments

1 - They actually have a website and setup a YouTube account.

2 - Yeah, I got it too -- hence how I found you :)

It's going to my SPAM folder in GMAIL.

Seems to only come up with 2 sources to download it.


3 - These guys are suspicious, too. One of them let it install and monitored the files to check them out. They didn't find malware, just a PDF spam? I don't know what the point would be, but them spam in general baffles me...

{ Link }

4 - There is quite a bit of negative feedback on YouTube by people complaining that this is SPAM. One writer says he is getting ten SPAM emails every day. Several others are calling for YouTube to ban whoever is doing this. My peak per day was five SPAM emails from them.

Meet Rocky

Rocky Oliver
Rocky Oliver
If you see me at a conference, please stop me and say hi!

Calendar

Search

Categories

LotusGeek Tour 2008

DNUG08-2.png

Proudly Employed By

I am the Vice President of Products for TeamStudio

Our Corporate Blog

I am the Vice President of Products for TeamStudio

Thawte Notary

Thawte Web of Trust Notary

LOTUS GEEK gear

Social Networking


Add to Technorati Favorites

View Rocky Oliver's profile on LinkedIn

Rocky  Oliver

LotusGeek Blog Roll

Why display a blog roll when Planet Lotus does it so much better?

Dilbert

Buy my book!

Blog Buttons

Atheist - Unitarian - Humanist

Atheist Symbol

chalice_150.gif

Happy Humanist

Poker Players Alliance

This Site Designed By

YOU! If you would like to see your name and link here, read more about the Skin the Geek contest!